India vs Australia Test series - india vs australia test record - cricket news

India vs Australia Test series- india vs australia test record- cricket news

After the T20 series between India and Australia, it is time for the all-important four-match Test series. India, who have never won a Test series in Australia, travel Down Under as favorites — perhaps for the first time in history. The two teams already faced each other in a rain-marred three-match T20 series which was tied at 1-1. Australia, who were lucky enough to edge out India in the first T20 due to Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method, could not hold on to their lead as India bounced back strongly in the third T20. The second T20 was washed out. Now the focus shifts to the iconic Border-Gavaskar trophy, as a much-awaited meeting between two great cricketing nations that gave cricket fans some of the most memorable moments in the history of the game. India vs Australia first Test is scheduled to take place at the Adelaide Oval on Thursday, December 6.
Indian opener Prithvi Shaw who injured his ankle during India’s warm-up game has been ruled out of the series and has been replaced by Mayank Agarwal, Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) announced on Monday. India who is in desperate need of some form high up in the batting order will be keen on using Agarwal for the remainder of the series.
India’s squad for the Test series was announced more than a month ago and had grabbed the headlines mainly for the surprise inclusion of players like Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay and Parthiv Patel in the Test squad. There was a strong call among the Indian cricket fraternity to include Rohit Sharma in the Test squad especially after his sensational run of form in limited overs cricket. Sharma was excluded from the Test squads for the tour of England as well as South Africa.
On the other hand, Murali Vijay, who was was dropped after the first three Tests in England, makes a comeback to the side after a strong run in the English county circuit. And it looks like the selectors have acknowledged his performance with a call-up to the Test side. Parthiv Patel, who last played Test Cricket for India in 2016, has also been awarded a call-up to the Test side at the expense of Dinesh Karthik as the second-choice wicketkeeper.
Although there were no other real surprises in the squad, Hanuma Vihari who debuted for India in the final Test match against England has retained his spot. India has picked three spinners for the tour of Australia. Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Kuldeep Yadav retain their places but we will have to wait and see as to who gets a chance to start in the series. Hardik Pandya who was sidelined due to an injury sustained during the Asia Cup in September has been called-up to the side. Pandya picked up a five-for in the Ranji Trophy game and even scored a 127 ball 73.
Virat Kohli will be leading the side with Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane completing India’s batting attack. Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar form what looks like a very strong pace unit.
India’s squad for Test series against Australia: Virat Kohli (C), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Post a Comment